The Show’s Reality

This Will Make Sense Later…

No, definitely not reality television.

I’m learning something new every time I watch (well now re-watch) an episode of Workaholics. Ders, Adam, and Blake all play exaggerated versions of themselves on the show, but some of the stories, jokes, and storylines of the show actually came from their real lives.

Even before I started writing this blog I was a huge fan of the show. I watched it, researched it, and watched it again. After awhile you feel like you may even know too much about the personal lives about these guys. Creepy? Maybe, but knowing the history behind these guys just makes the show that much funnier. Let me explain:

Season 1, Episode 2: “We Be Ballin’”

The guy’s throw a house party and the previous owner’s of the house show up and Adam tries to intimidate them to get them to leave. Adam’s Quote: “And I tried out for the high school wrestling team. And guess what? I almost made it too. But they said being a mascot was more my skill set. (Makes cheerleading hand gestures) Go Patriots!” (Adam Devine graduated from Millard South High School in Omaha, Nebraska. The mascot? The Patriots.)

Season 1, Episode 3: “Office Campout”

The guy’s stay the night in the office because they can’t stay at their house. So what do they do? Drugs of course (mushrooms to be exact). But where did this idea come from? In my last blog post I mentioned their web series 5th Year, and that idea actually came from the episode “Mushroom Tea”. The entire Workaholics episode “The Promotion” (S1E4) comes from this web series as well.

Season 3, Episode 10: “Flashback In The Day”

The episode flashes back to Adam and Blake’s first day of college where they meet for the first time. Adam’s character is taking multiple classes involving women’s studies and human sexuality (Adam Devine studied Human Sexuality at Lehigh Carbon Community College in Schnecksville, Pennsylvania). Blake’s character is a theatre major (that was also true.) I could see this actually happing.

And those are just the first 3 examples I can come up with just off the top of my head. And another interesting fact: Anders, Adam, and Blake all work as telemarketers at Telamericacorp. (They also worked as telemarketers in college before their success as the “Workaholics”.)

2 responses

  1. Nice I’d heard they got their start from YouTube, but never knew it was so casual. Guess I shouldn’t be surprised though considering how funny these guys are. I also never knew that Carl attended film school and directs it, and that the four of them made as a hobby of sorts. That’s awesome. Its curious that they all take their real names, except Carl, but he’s a little bit more of a minor role, so I guess it makes sense. Good show, good post, man.

  2. I see people posting about this show everywhere! It does seem quite hilarious. I think it makes the show more personal that they kind of play themselves. I’m sure it makes it easier to draw from personal experiences for their characters.

Leave a Reply

